Apricot Cake

Last summer I visited a friend in the Czech Republic and her grandma served us a traditional lunch followed by the best cake I’ve ever had in my life. She baked it with apricots from her own garden which probably made the difference. Anyways, seeing apricots in the shops the other day reminded me of this wonderful holiday and the cake so I decided to bake one myself.
It turned out very nice (to my surprise because I used apricots bought in the local supermarket, nothing fancy or homegrown)! I took it to the lab on my last day of work and everyone seemed to enjoy it there, too. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did (I baked it three times in one week :D)

apricot cakeFor one 26cm (about 10.5inch) cake:
250g caster sugar
1 packet vanilla sugar (or a few drops vanilla extract)
250g soft butter
4 eggs
300g selfraising flour (I used “instant flour which is very fine with 1 teaspoon of baking powder)
6-8 apricots
 
For the crumble:
some butter (about 80g)
chopped hazelnuts
brown or caster sugar
 

Preheat the oven to 180°C (fan).

Cream butter with sugar before adding the eggs one at a time while whisking. Incorporate as much air as possible – take your time whisking the mixture. Sift in the flour slowly and whisk until you get a smooth batter.

Grease the tart dish (I used a baking spray but thats hard to get in Germany, butter will do as well) and fill with the cake mixture. Spread out evenly.

Wash and cut the apricots in half, removing the stones. Press halves into cake mixture and fit as many in as possible. Don’t press them down all the way but only slightly, the cake will rise and you want them in the middle of the cake.

If you like a crumbly top, mix butter, sugar, and hazelnuts to form a crumbly mixture that can be sprinkled over the cake. I also tried it with just sprinkling hazelnuts on their own on the cake and it was equally as nice. If you don’t like hazelnuts you could use almonds instead.

20140627-202343-73423730.jpg

Bake the cake until a skewer comes out clean. Unfortunately I don’t have a fan oven so its difficult to estimate how long to bake it for, I guess between 20-30 minutes.

Serve on a lovely warm summer day 🙂

 

Printer friendly PDF version: Apricot Cake

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

