Mrs Beeton – a true legend!

Today I strolled round the shops, including my very favourite cookery shops, and found this lovely new book:

Foto 3

I’ve got a copy of the original book back in Germany and read it every time I am at home. I have to admit that I am not a huge history fan (mainly due to my horrible teachers at school), but this book gives an incredibly interesting insight into the Victorian way of living. This new version of the book by Gerard Baker provides modern versions of the recipes with relating to the originals that Mrs. Beeton published in the 19th century. I can happily recommend both the original Mrs. Beeton’s Book of Household Management and this new version called Mrs. Beeton How to Cook, so get at least one of the two 😉

One thought on “Mrs Beeton – a true legend!

  1. Hi there, about 40 years ago I was given one of Mrs Beetons recipe books. It had been revised in a most charming way. The original pages had been printed onto a larger page and it was if whoever had put the book together, had gone through the whole book and had commented with a pen on the changes through time. It was so interesting to see these changes. I would love to find a copy of this book as through my travels I have lost it.

    Do you have any suggestions on how I can do this.

    Thanks so much for any help you can give me.

    Sincerely
    Andy

Leave a Reply

