Strawberry Cream Cake

 

My sister and I love to watch Ace of Cakes on Food Network. Their cakes are absolutely amazing and both of us are dreaming of them coming to Germany to make us cool cakes 😀

My sister finished school now and got the most incredible results. To surprise her, I was in the kitchen for most of the day and tried my very best to make a cake decorated with fondant.

The most important thing I’ve learnt was to always buy masses of fondant because I thought I had loads and it wasn’t really enough to cover my cake in the end! Make sure you buy large amounts because you can keep it and reuse it.

 
 
Ingredients:
250g caster sugar
250g soft butter
2 teaspoons vanilla sugar
5 eggs
250g flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
500ml whipping cream
500g Quark
50g sugar
500g fresh strawberries
whipping cream stabilizer
gelatine (Tortenguss)
 

Preheat the oven for 180°C.

For the cake, cream sugar, vanilla sugar, and butter and add the eggs. Whisk to incorporate a lot of air and sift in flour and baking powder. Fill into a greased 28cm spring form and bake the cake for about 40 minutes.

Leave the cake to cool completely on a wire rack. If possible cut the cake into three thin slices. We have different tools at home for that and I haven’t really figured out which one works best yet, but if you don’t have any equipment or don’t feel like it just cut it in half lengthways. Also make sure the cake is completely cool, I think I lost one corner of my cake because it was still too warm.

For the strawberry and cream filling, wash the strawberries, remove the green and cut into halves. Purée with a hand mixer and place in the fridge.

Whip the cream with sugar and whipping cream stabilizer. Carefully mix with the Quark using a spoon. Add strawberry puree to taste and place the mixture into the fridge again.

Prepare the gelatin or Tortenguss as instructed (, leave to cool) and add to the cream mixture. Allow to set slightly.

Spoon half of the strawberry cream on the bottom cake part and place in the fridge until set. Repeat with the middle part and add the top cake layer.

It is probably best to have a thin layer on top and on the sides of the cake so that the fondant can stick better (mine fell off very easily).

For the fondant covering dust a work surface with icing sugar and roll out a big chunk of white fondant. It is incredibly difficult to roll it out thin enough and lifting it up without destroying it so my layer was a little thicker 😉

Add some decorations with coloured fondant.

The other day I experimented a little with fondant decorations and tried to make some roses. Not the most beautiful ones but a good first try I guess:

Leave a Reply

